Don’t miss the next All-Alumni Reunion June 23–25

Featuring the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Awards

If you enjoyed – or missed – the 2016 All-Alumni Reunion, start making plans to join us next year.

The 2017 All-Alumni Reunion will take place June 23-25, 2017 on the Newman University campus. As was the case with the 2016 reunion, next year’s event will include a variety of activities for alumni of all class years and people of all ages.

“Many activities that were popular at this year’s reunion will be offered again at the 2017 event,” said Newman Director of Alumni Relations and Annual Giving Sarah Strole. “There will be several learning opportunities such as lectures, a beer tasting event and children’s activities. Alums will also have the opportunity to stay in student residence halls if they wish.”

Alumni Awards

In addition to these activities, a dinner on Saturday evening, June 24 will feature the presentation of the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Awards. The dinner is open to the public and all reunion attendees. The Alumni Award honorees are:


Lanny Gridley ‘07
Leon McNeill Distinguished Alumni Award
Gridley earned an MBA degree while working with Sherwood Construction Company as a staff accountant. He is now chief financial officer and project manager for Sherwood. He has been involved with the March of Dimes, United Way and the Park Plaza Church of Christ in Tulsa.



Lois and George Kreidler
Lois and George Kreidler

Lois ’74 and George ’72 Kreidler
The Beata Netemeyer Service Award
Both Lois and George earned degrees in education at Kansas Newman College. Lois spent her entire career teaching at St. Marks Catholic School. George is retired as marketing manager for Starkey, Inc. in Wichita. They are active as Newman alumni and as members of St. Marks Parish, where they played key roles in restoring this historical German church.



Gerry Killeen ’65, ‘69
The St. Maria De Mattias Award
An alumna of both Sacred Heart Academy and Sacred Heart College, Killeen has had a lifelong career in advertising and marketing. She and two partners formed the Kaplan Thaler Group in New York City, the creators of the AFLAC duck. She has been active in many professional and service organizations, and in St. Ignatius Loyola Church. Read more about Killeen in the Alumni Profile section.



Ginny Wylie ‘93
The Spirit of Acuto Transformational Award
A 1993 graduate from Kansas Newman, Wylie joined the Wichita Police Department in 1995 and was named Police Officer of the Year in 1998. She has served in undercover work and community policing, and has used her position of service to “transform society” by responding to unique and special needs of Wichita citizens.

Honorary Alumni

The National Alumni Board has also named five individuals as Honorary Alumni. The honorees are:

Lou Murdick, former manager of Great Western Dining at Newman University.

Leonard Utz, a three-year Sacred Heart College student who began pharmacy school in what would have been his senior year.

Dana Fugate, a Kansas Newman College attendee from fall 1976 through spring 1978. She and her husband Larry have been loyal and generous friends of the university.

Tim McGreevy, a four-year Sacred Heart College student who was unable to complete one course required for a chemistry degree.

Jean Peters Macias, a three-year Sacred Heart College student who also began pharmacy school in what would have been her senior year.

More details and registration forms for the 2017 All-Alumni Reunion and dinner featuring the 2017 Alumni Awards will be distributed in the near future. Details and registration will also be available on the Newman Alumni Web site,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *