academic awards

Students honored for 2019-2020 achievements


by Scarlett Cannata

The Newman University annual Academic Awards Banquet recognizes students for their hard work and accomplishments throughout the year.

Students were honored online this year for their accomplishments rather than at a banquet due to COVID-19.

“Our students are great in so many different ways and it is inspiring to hear of the great things they are accomplishing,” said Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Rosemary Neidens, who, like others in the Newman community, was disappointed the students couldn’t be honored in person. “I look forward each year to seeing our students honored for their commitment and impact — they are truly transforming society.”

The awards recognize not only academic accomplishments; the Student Life office also presents awards to clubs, organizations and individuals who have done an outstanding job in their role throughout the year.

“I hope the students realize that we do honor them and take pride in their achievements regardless of whether we are at a banquet or not,” said Niedens.

The 2019-2020 academic awardees are as follows:

  • Creative Achievement Award — Courtney Klaus
  • Fine Arts Achievement Award — Emily Larkin
  • Fine Arts Achievement Award — Murphy Obershaw
  • Humanities Achievement Award — Dakota Heard
  • Humanities Achievement Award — Marie O’Neal
  • Outstanding Accounting Student Award — Gabriella Dick
  • Outstanding Nontraditional Student — Danette Caire
  • Outstanding Bachelor of Business Administration Student — Andreas Agrell
  • Outstanding Information Technology/Management Informatons Systems Student — Kristin Lau
  • Outstanding Intern Award — Jacquelin Castillo
  • Outstanding Intern Award — Shannon Millar
  • Sister Susan Reeves Award – Julieta Sandoval
  • Sister Vivian Miller Elementary Award — Kaitlyn Stallard
  • Outstanding Master of Science in Education Award — Shelby Loganbill
  • Freshman History Prize — Presley Williams
  • Joyce Sullentrop Prize for Distinguished Scholarship in History — Michael VanDeest
  • Radiology Technology Janie Ward Clinical Excellence Award, Ascension Via Christi St. Joseph — Genesis Campos
  • Radiology Technology Janie Ward Clinical Excellence Award, Wesley Medical Center — Emily Harper
  • Radiology Technology Janie Ward Clinical Excellence Award, Ascension Via Christi St. Francis — Thomas Martin
  • Robbi and Larry Heck Outstanding Social Science Student — Abigail Riley
  • Excellence in Mastery of Social Work — Samantha Andrea Lott
  • Sister Margaret Knoeber Lower Division Chemistry Award — Madison Shay
  • Surendra P. Singh Outstanding Freshman in Biology Award — Presley Williams
  • Steve Palubicki Oustanding Sophomore or Junior in Biology Award — Dania Jumpa
  • Sister Claudine Axman Award in Biology — Claudius Ciecko
  • Outstanding Calculus Student Award — Elijah Klein
  • Outstanding Senior Chemistry Student — Koki Takemoto
  • Burbage Award — Lucas D. Farney
  • Distinguished Bachelor of Science of Nursing — Keelah Warden

Student Life Awards:

  • Student Employee of the Year — Karen Do
  • Student Organization Advisor of the Year — Sonja Bontrager
  • Student Leader of the Year — Stephania Lopez
  • Registered Student Organization of the Year — Newman University Medical Professions Club
  • University-Affiliated Student Organization of the Year — Campus Ministry Peer Ministers