Distinguished Alumni Award Winners 2023

2023 Distinguished Alumni Award Winners

From ltr: Lovella Kelley, Christine Ostroski, Lisa Garcia, Richard Macias

Newman University recognized four impressive 2023 Alumni Award winners at a special evening event Tuesday, April 18.

The four awards are the St. Maria De Mattias Award, Beata Netemeyer Service Award, Leon A. McNeill Distinguished Alumni Award and the Spirit of Acuto Award.

Christine Ostroski ’86 was the recipient of the St. Maria De Mattias Award, which honors alumni who display a deep loyalty through Newman and its mission. Now, more than 10 years later as a “professional volunteer,” she continues to help families and children with their faith formation journey.

Video: Christine Ostroski – 2023 St. MDM Award

Lovella Kelley, a 1991 nursing graduate received the Beata Netemeyer Alumni Award. The award is named for Sister Beata Netemeyer, ASC, who served as the provincial of the Adorers of the Blood of Christ for the former Wichita province.

Video: Lovella Kelley – 2023 Beata Netemeyer Service Award

Richard Macías, a 1980 history graduate of Kansas Newman College, received the Leon A. McNeill Distinguished Alumni Award, which honors graduates who have achieved outstanding success in their personal lives and careers. Currently, Macías is a judge for the 18th Judicial District Court.

Video: Richard Macías – 2023 Leon A. McNeill Award

Alumna Lisa Garcia, a 2008 biology graduate received the Spirit of Acuto Award, which honors graduates using their talent and training at critical junctures to move a vision to reality.

Now a clinical anatomy professor at Wichita State University, Garcia takes the same “small-class” experience she got as a Newman student and uses it to get to know each and every one of her students.

Video: Lisa Garcia – 2023 Spirit of Acuto Award