Sacred Heart

New Additions to the Newman Board of Trustees


The Newman University Board of Trustees has welcomed three new members and reconfigured its executive committee for the 2023-24 academic year.

Drew Bogner, Ph.D., ’79 joins the board with extensive higher ed administration experience and a wide-ranging tie to Newman. President emeritus Bogner is renowned for his transformative two-decade tenure at Molloy University. Under his leadership Molloy was transformed from a college to a university, adding numerous graduate and doctoral programs. Under his guidance, student enrollment surged from
2,200 to 5,000, along with the construction of 10 new buildings and the establishment of four outreach centers.

Bogner’s appointment to the board is a homecoming of sorts. His connection to Newman University is deep-rooted, with 13 years spent serving in various roles, including Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. He contributed to Newman’s own transition from a college to a university. Bogner graduated from Newman in 1979 and received his doctorate from the University of Kansas.

Matthew T. Schippers, J.D., LL.M., CPA, is the second new appointee to the Newman Board of Trustees. A prominent legal expert, Schippers is currently a member at Triplett Woolf Garretson, LLC, where he specializes in estate planning, tax planning, corporate law, and real estate transactions. A graduate of the New York University School of Law with a Master of Law in Taxation, and the University of Kansas School of Law, he brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the Board. His commitment to excellence is evident from his distinguished educational background and professional affiliations.

The third new member is Jenny Sellaro, ASC, ’20. She is one of the three Adorers of the Blood of Christ (ASC) board designees. Sr. Jenny fills a spot opened after Sr. Vicki Bergkamp resigned from the board in June. 

A 2020 graduate of Newman’s nursing program, Sr. Jenny emerged as a front-line hero during the pandemic, serving at Ascension Via Christi St. Francis Hospital in Wichita. Born Giacoma Lucia Sellaro, Sr Jenny is from southern Italy and made her perpetual vows as an Adorer in 2021.

Changes to the Executive Committee include Jenifer Stone joining as board chair and Marcelo Casenove as vice chair. Sr. Mary Catherine Clark will serve on the Executive Committee as ASC designee following Sr. Vicki’s retirement from the Board.